Ducks at a Distance
A Waterfowl Identification Guide

Administrative Waterfowl Flyways

GIF -- Picture of the Four Flyways

Waterfowl Flyways

The term "flyway" has long been used to designate the migration routes of birds. For management purposes, four waterfowl flyways - Pacific, Central, Mississippi, and Atlantic - were established in the United States in 1948. To varying degrees the waterfowl populations using each of these flyways differ in abundance, species composition, migration pathways, and breeding ground origin. There are differences, also, in levels of shooting pressure and harvest.

For the most part flyway boundaries follow Sate lines. However, the boundary between the Pacific and the Central flyway generally follows the Continental Divide.

There are some problems in matching waterfowl migration corridors with flyway boundaries because some species nest and winter in areas that do not occur along a north-south axis. These species cross flyway boundaries during migration. On balance, the present arrangement is useful in that it permits reasonable management of waterfowl. At some future time, it is possible that further rearrangement of boundaries may permit better management of the waterfowl resource.

Flyway Councils

In 1952, Flyway Councils were formed in each of the four flyways. The Council in each flyway is made up of representatives from the wildlife agencies of the States in that flyway - one representative from each State. The Councils study flyway problems, develop waterfowl management recommendations, and generally work closely with the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service in implementing waterfowl management and research programs.

Previous Section -- Wetlands Attract Wildlife
Return to Contents
Next Section -- Dedication of Ducks at a Distance to the memory of Robert W. Hines